Posted by: Chloe | November 1, 2007

Dropped off

My husband and I drove the 4 hours to take mama to the treatment facility.  It took us awhile to find the facility and mama wouldn’t stop talking about needing a watch.  We stopped at one store but found nothing.  We had limited time and after we took her out for lunch, it was time to drop her off.  I don’t know why she waited until we arrived in the town to ask for a watch.

My husband stayed outside while I walked her in.  The women stayed at various houses within walking distance of the main office building.  They are regular neighborhood houses that I assume the treatment center owns.  Mama sits and waits for me to take care of everything.  After talking to the receptionist, a lady comes out and introduces herself as mom’s case manager.  She goes over the rules, especially the things for the first 6 weeks.  Then she asks mom to take a drug test.  We had warned mama about this but I can tell she’s uncomfortable.  Not because she has to pee in a cup but because she’s being told what to do.  the test comes back negative and it’s time for me to leave.  Mom gets teary eyed but I shut my emotions down.  I can’t chance going back on this decision.  I hug her and tell her it will be okay – that this will be a good thing for her.  She nods and I turn to leave.  I won’t see her again until May 4, 2008 – 6 months later.

Leave a Reply

Categories

